10/9/2008 Elite Investment Scam
Below is my dialogue with this company that wanted to buy a domain of mine. I later found out by doing a simple web search that this was a scam. I am posting it so that others may not fall into this trap.
Can you accept 5,000 USD?
Do you sell domain with a web site or just the name?
Domain without content is ok with me. Web site is not necessary.
Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? I mean domain
appraisals. Without valuation we cannot be sure in the sale price. It's very
important for me in terms of reselling too. But we must engage a valuation
company with REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from
independent sources I and my partners trust.
To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal
companies.
Please check this blog with suggestions from other sellers and buyers:
http://webtalk.007sites.com/Archive/437219.htm
If, for example, the valuation comes higher you can adjust your asking price
accordingly. It will be fair. I also hope you can give me 12% - 15%
discount.
After you send me the valuation via email (usually it takes 1-2 days to
obtain it) we'll continue our negotiations.
What is your preferred payment method: Escrow.com, International wire
transfer, PayPal.com or something else?
Hope we can come to an agreement fast.
Looking forward to your reply.
----- Original Message -----
From: "Brian Taylor" <brian.taylor@haubstadt.com>
To: <jknight@eliteinvestment.net>
Sent: Wednesday, October 08, 2008 1:49 AM
Subject: RE: Offer for birdcount.us (sent 10/03/2008)
> Hello Mr. Knight,
> Make a counter offer and I will consider before I get too far into it.
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: jknight@eliteinvestment.net [mailto:jknight@eliteinvestment.net]
> Sent: Friday, October 03, 2008 6:00 PM
> To: brian.taylor@haubstadt.com
> Subject: Offer for birdcount.us (sent 10/03/2008)
>
> Hello,
>
> Your domain name has been found online.
>
> Please let us know your price.
>
> We make money on selling and buying names and sites. Now the domain
> business is very attractive.
>
> Looking forward to do business with you.
>
> Regards,
> Joshua Knight
> Vice President
> Norway Capital Investment Group
> ========================================================
> NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged
> information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any
> viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by
> unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this
> message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message
> and deleting it from your computer.
> ========================================================
>
>
>